New Kicks

So these are my new kicks.

For running.

Ugh.

I’m signed up for a 5K in Denver on May 26th.

It’s called The Color Run.

The only reason I really signed up for it is because it sounds like a fun thing to do…minus the running.

The fun part is that they throw a different color of paint at you at every kilometer, so at the end you’re all colorful!

And to be honest, all I was really thinking about was the awesome photos like this one that I could take during it.

Which I realize that makes me sound pretty crazy, but that’s just how my mind works.

So, now I’m in quite a pickle.

I have to learn how to run 3 miles before I go and drive to Denver to run 3 miles.

And no joke, I didn’t own tennis shoes. I haven’t boughten a pair since sophomore year of high school, after which I realized I’m done trying to pretend like I need athletic shoes, I’m clearly not an athlete. So I started buying chucks and flats exclusively.

Fast forward to today, me in the shoe store trying to decide between a pair of gray and pink Nikes and a pair of gray and pink Asics.

The Nikes were only $45, whereas the Asics were $75.

Both on sale I might add.

Thus began my half hour battle in my head about which ones to buy. They were both very similar in looks, but the Asics were A BILLION times more comfortable. I tried to figure out how to put a dollar amount on that comfort. Was it worth $30 more dollars? I’m such a cheapskate that I tried for a very long time to convince myself that it was not worth an extra $30.

I think the sales people were getting a little annoyed by my pacing and indecion. I frantically stared at socks while I weighed the pros and cons of each.

Finally, I threw caution to the wind and bought the Asics. I figure if I have to run, I might as well be comfortable…well as comfortable as possible.

Plus they’re kinda cute.

Anyways, so the past two weeks I kinda started…running.

And I hate to say it, but I don’t hate it.

As long as I’ve got my comfy kicks and some tunes, it’s almost something I look forward to.

Keep in mind I’m not running marathons. I’ve been alternating running 1 mile and 2 miles…I haven’t quite had the guts to try for 3 yet.

The shoes have taught me a lot about myself & about running:

1. Water is my best friend.

2. As a result of all the water I’m drinking, I found out my bladder is about the size of a walnut.

3. Running at 3:30pm is a really bad idea when you live within a mile and a half of 4 different grade schools.

4. People will judge you if you run into a spider web and frantically karate chop your way out of it.

5. Keep your mouth closed because you may run into a spider web.

6. Don’t try and dance while you run. Don’t.

7. There is a direct correlation between the volume of your music, and how awesome you are at life.

Such wisdom to be learned on this blog.

Anyways, all the exercise has given me a few ideas for some blog posts that I’m pretty excited about!

Other than the running, I’ve been fighting off senioritis like the freakin’ plague. Seriously, why do teachers insist on cramming in tests right before finals? I’ve had 4 tests in the past week and a half and it’s killllling me. I can’t stress enough how big of a celebration I’m going to throw once I’m graduated. 2 words: party. hats.

Today I’m going to be photographing Shop the Blocks so hopefully I’ll get to see some people I know. I’m very excited!

I’ll leave you with a photo of the picture I just hung in my bathroom — I’m thrilled because it’s been sitting in my room for literally a year and has finally just been hung…it made me feel accomplished, even though I wasn’t the one who hung it.

It’s vintage sheet music for the piano–I found it at a flea market and fell in love with it right away. I don’t really know why, but it’s partly due to the fact that I’m 5’2 and have blue eyes. I looked up the song and it’s pretty catchy…people like Bing Crosby and Dean Martin have sung it. Micah and I had a fun time dancing to it–we really enjoy old fashioned music 🙂

Anyways, that’s all I have for today…hope yours is lovely!

xoxo,

Monica

6 thoughts on “New Kicks

  1. I totally have those shoes on right now. Well, mine aren’t pink and grey. They’re white and black.. but still SUPER comfortable and totally worth the extra $30 !

  2. Did you agree to do the Fun Run with KyAnn, too? I made that mistake, and that sneaky little shit signed me up for the 10K instead of the mile. Needless to say, I WILL NOT be running the 10K.

Leave a Reply

