May Day!

Tuesday was May Day, and guess what we did:

We made Rainbow Cake in a Jar!

When I told Ruthie that it was May Day she replied, “Do we get to wear dresses?”

It’s so fun introducing all these new and exciting holidays to her, she’s at the age where she is aware of what’s going on and will most definitely remember how things work next time the occasion rolls around.

I personally think May Day is one of the most underrated of the holidays.

So to celebrate this year I took on the somewhat daunting task of making 20 jars of rainbow cakes!

Here is where I got the recipe–

I pinned it months ago meaning to bake it with the girls then, but this was actually a perfect occasion for it!

It’s pretty much just plain white cake with food coloring and frosting, fancified.

To prepare, you better find some energetic helpers:

1. Make the batter

2. Divide into separate bowls–you don’t have to do this many, just however many colors you’d like to use.

I recommend getting the neon food colorings–they’re so fun!

3. Fill jars about 1/3 full–any more and you won’t have much space to put frosting on top!

I recommend pouring the batter in rather than using a spoon, once you get the hang of it, it works better because you don’t get batter all over the sides.

4. Place on cookie sheet filled with 1/4 cup of water and bake at 350 degrees–

On the site I got it from, the lady made them in pint size jars, I used half pint, which only took about 25 minutes to bake. Any longer and the cake browned a little bit so it wasn’t as bright looking.

5. While you wait for them to bake, have a dance party in the kitchen.

6. Carefully take them out of the oven and let cool.

7. Add frosting and sprinkles! I used whipped frosting, I think it works better for this type of project.

8. Decorate!

I found fabric that was left over and still “wunder under”-ed from shirts I made for the girls–so I cut circles and glued them to the top. Then we wrapped twine from my craft box around them and added hand cut tags.

Then the best part!

9. Delivery!

10. Eat!

This was quite the hit at our house.

We made 21 jars of Rainbow Cake from 3 boxes of cake mix, roughly 7 jars per box depending on how much you use per jar.

If you’re looking for a reason to make these, they would make a great teacher gift!

Hope I didn’t make you too hungry–have a great Thursday!

xoxo,

Monica

One thought on “May Day!

Leave a Reply

