1st Blog-aversary!

Happy 1st Blog-aversary to The Nanny Diaries!

YAYYYY

It’s hard to believe it was a whole year ago that I decided to take the plunge and start this blog.

It all began in an attempt to get away from the stress and deadlines of real life. I was in school and had a lot going on with my photography business, all of which were good things–but I felt like I wanted an outlet that I could express myself creatively, with absolutely no guidelines or rules to follow. As a person who feels a need to create, it has been an amazing experience, as well as a source of inspiration in many other parts of my life!

I had absolutely no expectations for people to see, or care, what I have to talk about – but after a year of doing this, I’ve grown quite a base of followers and have reached people all over the world!

Screen shot 2013-03-23 at 9.39.37 AMIf you look closely, you’ll see that people in FIFTY countries have read my blog!

It is absolutely amazing (and terrifying!) to realize just how many people I can reach with this little thing.

Besides feeling like people all over the world can hear my tiny voice, it has also been amazing to see my progression of the quality of my writing, as well as my photography.

It’s fun to look back and laugh (or cringe) at how I used to write, photograph or edit, just a year ago — and to see that I am indeed making progress and becoming better and better every day.

The photography industry is very visual, and there is a lot of pressure to compare yourself to others photographers. By having this blog, it has made it easier for me to ONLY compare myself to ME and to try and to become a better photographer than I was yesterday.

Compare

Case in point.

And, to take a moment of vanity–it has been nice to BE in some photos! As a photographer, I find that although I’m not exactly as comfortable in front of the camera, it’s always nice to have proof that you’ve actually been to places, or were part of an activity.

As much as I LOVE being “the photographer” of a group, I am often sad that I don’t get to be a part of the fun, candid photos that I take. This blog has pushed me to be more vocal in asking someone to take a photo of me, rather than shying away and keeping my mouth shut, only to be disappointed later that I don’t have any photos of myself doing something I enjoyed. If you have a photographer in your life–be courteous and ask if they’d like to be in a photo every once in awhile! You’ll probably find that they really, really do!

And finally, it has been so amazing to see the girls grow!

IMG_1600copy6

FrancePantsI have always known my time with these girls is limited, so to be able to have this diary documenting the years of my life that I have been blessed enough to share with them has been something that is priceless unto itself.

I’d like to thank everyone who has expressed their kind words and thoughts about the work I have put into this blog–it really does keep me going some days!

Here’s to the journey!

IMG_3902 copy

Thanks for being a part of mine!

xoxo,

Monica

Leave a Reply

