Green River, Pink Drinks

Saint Patrick’s Day.

A very special day.

A day in which it is socially acceptable, if not encouraged, to drink heavily before 5pm–this is especially true in the beautiful, albeit windy city of Chicago.

Some friends and I decided it would be lots of fun to go out there this year and spend Saint Patrick’s day in style.

Style for me, however, went out the window when we arrived in the city and it was a BRISK 30 degrees outside.

The only coat I brought matched the green beret that I eagerly bought off of a street vendor in search of something to make me just a little bit warmer. And by “matched”, I mean it made the colors of the flag of Ireland, since I was informed that my coat is actually orange–not red, like I had thought when I bought it 2 years ago.

Fortunately, Saint Patrick’s Day is an Irish holiday, so I went with it.

It was a great adventure and so wonderful to enjoy it with old friends.

And,

I was just dumb enough to carry around my expensive camera this  city full of drunken crazies for 3 days.

Here are some of the results!

Hotel Felixxxx! "It's a boutique hotel."

Hotel Felixxxx! “It’s a boutique hotel.”

Brunch!

Brunch!

Steph and Marcel looking lovely.

Steph and Marcel looking lovely.

Laura's teapot

Laura’s teapot

IMG_1929 IMG_1930 IMG_1931

Green.

Green.

IMG_1940 IMG_1942

Friends by the river!

Friends by the river!

IMG_1949 IMG_1951 IMG_1963

Foggy and cold.

Foggy and cold.

IMG_1974

Matty!

Matty!

I tried to get a nice picture of everyone--would have gone smoother before the Jameson.

I tried to get a nice picture of everyone–would have gone smoother before the Jameson.

The obvious course of action to take when someone moons you.

The obvious course of action to take when someone moons you.

The best picture we could get out of the drunk lady. Notice I'm ready to jump at any moment if she drops the camera.

This is what happens when you let a drunk woman take photo of your group.

Oh, Joe.

Oh, Joe.

Documenting the chaos.

Documenting the chaos.

IMG_2019 IMG_2029 IMG_2031

My favorite bride and groom!

My favorite bride and groom!

IMG_2058 IMG_2060

It's love.

It’s love.

I like taking pictures of people taking pictures.

I like taking pictures of people taking pictures.

IMG_2074

Precious!

IMG_2079

Friends!

Friends!

Laura and the river!

Laura and the river!

IMG_2087 IMG_2106 IMG_2111 IMG_2118

I'm too fancy for green beer.

I’m too fancy for green beer.

IMG_2129

Obsessed

Obsessed

Charcuterie!

Charcuterie!

IMG_2141

Absolutely gorgeous Cathedral

Absolutely gorgeous Cathedral

IMG_2150

IMG_2156

Going out in our boldest colors!

A bunch of photos from Matt's improv show!

A bunch of photos from Matt’s improv show!

IMG_2167 IMG_2175 IMG_2182 IMG_2184 IMG_2197

Such skill.

Such skill.

IMG_2210 IMG_2221 IMG_2229 IMG_2233

IMG_2239

So awesome!

IMG_2247 IMG_2255

Cute, Larz!

Cute, Larz!

IMG_2318 IMG_2321 IMG_2330

raindrops

raindrops

Engagement Buddies!

We almost forgot to get this photo we wanted–Engagement Buddies!

I believe that success in life is measured by happiness–

–and there are few things in this world that make me happier than creating new memories with old friends.

xoxo,

Monica

Leave a Reply

